Built in 1860, the East Wind Inn began as a nineteenth-century sail loft, part of a working boatyard. Occasional town meetings were held at the Sail Loft, as well as the village's first Masonic gatherings. In the 1920s, it was converted to an Inn - the Wan-e-set - were tourists from Boston, arriving by steamer, spent long summer stays. To this day, the meaning of the name 'Wan-e-set' is still a mystery.
The Wan-e-set was sold to a succession of local residents in the mid-1950s, but was not fully operating as a bed and breakfast until the early 1970s. In 1974, Tim Watts, a beloved native of Tenants Harbor, purchased the abandoned building, restored it, and reopened as the 'East Wind Inn.' Several years later he purchased an adjacent nineteenth-century sea captain's mansion that had been converted into a boarding house and added it to the Inn.
Sail Loft & Captain's House
Randy Deutsch, a long time summer resident of Tenants Harbor, continued Tim Watts' legacy after he passed away in 2012. He renovated the Inn, adding modern amenities, private bathrooms, an upscale Apartment, and the iconic Quarry Tavern. Upon Randy's retirement, Brian and Danielle Turner became the proud owners of the Inn, committed to preserving its coastal charm and providing a relaxing, beautiful place for all who visit. They established a History Wall to celebrate the rich heritage of the Sail Loft and Captain's House.
Interested in the history of the East Wind Inn & Suites? Browse historical letters, articles, menus and photographs during your next visit. Check our availability!